David Willingham
Caldwell Leslie & Proctor PC
725 S Figueroa St, 31st Fl
Los Angeles CA 90017-5524

Matthew Close
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
400 S. Hope St.
Los Angeles CA 90071

Hilary Potashner
Office of the Federal Public Defender
321 East 2nd Street
Los Angeles CA 90012

Lane Dilg
UCLA Ofc of Legal Affairs
Box 951405
Los Angeles CA 90095


Message from the President

Welcome to the Los Angeles Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

Our chapter has over 400 members and is one of the largest in the country. We are committed to serving the needs of federal practitioners, judges, and courts throughout the Central District of California. We were chartered in 1937 and are one of the oldest chapters of the national Federal Bar Association. Our membership reflects all facets of the federal legal community, and includes judges, civil practitioners, criminal defense attorneys, prosecutors, transactional lawyers, attorneys specializing in intellectual property, labor and employment, bankruptcy, environmental, civil rights, class actions, and a broad array of others including court administrators, administrative agency lawyers and academics.

Throughout the year, the FBA-Los Angeles hosts educational programs and social functions to advance federal jurisprudence and provide a networking forum for our membership. Our Board of Directors includes many of the Judges in the Central District and we exercise a leadership role in issues that impact the federal courts and legal community within our district and nationally. Our award-winning newsletter keeps members apprised of significant current events in the Central District, and our Younger Lawyers Division, including our mentoring program, is dedicated to serving the needs of newer lawyers. We have a substantial pro-bono program and are proud of our work with the pro se clinic in the Federal Court house.

In 2016, the federal courts in Los Angeles will be working to transition to a new home, and upgrading to a more advanced technology that will help facilitate the business of the courts. As the bridge between the federal bench and the bar in Los Angeles, we look forward to working even closer with the bench during this monumental transition.

If you are not already a member, I hope you will join the Los Angeles Chapter of the FBA here. We welcome your participation and involvement in the Chapter.

I look forward to seeing you at upcoming events.
Warmest regards,

David Willingham
President, FBA-Los Angeles

Thank you to Judicate West for their support




Thursday, 29 September 2016

Board Members

Past Presidents

2014-2015 Ken Sulzer
2013-2014 Sharon Ben-Shahar
2012-2013 Evan A. Jenness
2011-2012 Jeffrey Rutherford
2010-2011 Mary Carter Andrues
2009-2010 Yolanda Orozco
2008-2009 Fred A. Rowley, Jr
2007-2008 Gary Lincenberg
2006-2007 Janet I. Levine
2005-2006 Lorraine L. Loder
2004-2005 Brian J. Hennigan
2003-2004 Mark A. Byrne
2002-2003 Marc A. Becker
2001-2002 Richard Marmaro
Jerome H. Craig
1999-2000 Richard H. Kirschner
1998-1999 Thomas Holliday
1997-1998 Brad D. Brian
1996-1997 James L. Goldman
1995-1996 Leslie R. Horowitz
1994-1995 Molly Munger
1993-1994 John R. Sommer
1992-1993 Patricia A. Mitchell
1991-1992 William James
1990-1991 Howard O. Boltz
1989-1990 Joan S. Ortolano
1988-1989 Richard E. Drooyan
1987-1988 Edward M. Robbins, Jr.
1986-1987 Christine L. Harwell
1985-1986 Donald C. Smaltz
1984-1985 Felicia Duque Black
1983-1984 John A. Lapinski
1982-1983 Robert C. Bonner
1981-1982 Robert L. Fenton
1980-1981 Meredith C. Taylor
1979-1980 John D. Vandevelde
1978-1979 Charles Jegikowski
1977-1978 Hon. Barry Russell
1976-1977 Robert M. Talcott
1975-1976 James D. Murray
1974-1975 Arnold G. Regardie
1973-1974 Rex W. Kellough
1972-1973 James R. Dooley
1971-1972 Hon. Richard M. Mosk
1970-1971 Donald A. Fareed
1969-1970 Morton B. Jackson
1968-1969 Hon. Matthew M. Byrne, Jr.
1967-1968 Miles J. Rubin
1966-1967 Vincent C. Page
1965-196b Thomas J. Sullivan
1964-1965 Edward R. McHale
1963-1964 Carla A. Hills
1962-1963 Carla A. Hills
1961-1962 Ernest Mortenson
1960-1961 Richard A. Lavine
1959-1960 Lloyd F. Dune
1958-1959 Lloyd F. Dune
1957-1958 Robert K. Grean
1956-1957 Max F. Deutz
1955-1956 Tobias G. Klinger
1954-1955 Laughlin E. Waters