Sharon Ben-Shahar
Bird Marella
1875 Century Park East 23rd Fl
Los Angeles CA 90067
T: 310-201-2100
F: 310-201-2110

Kenneth Sulzer
Proskauer Rose LLP
2049 Century Park East Ste 3200
Los Angeles CA 90062

David Willingham
Caldwell Leslie & Proctor PC
725 S Figueroa St, 31st Fl
Los Angeles CA 90017-5524

Matthew Close
O'Melveny & Myers LLP
400 S. Hope St.
Los Angeles CA 90071


Coming Events

September 16, 2014
Registration: 5:15 p.m.
Reception 5:30 p.m.
Presentations 6:00 p.m.
Panel Discussions 6:45 p.m.
Q&A 7:15 p.m.
End Program 7:30 p.m.

Representative Program Topics:
- Preventing terrorist attacks through mass surveillance activities versus privacy interests/constitutional bounds.
- Legal/constitutional/policy considerations relevant to the National Security Agency having real time access, with oversight, to big data to prevent terrorism.
- Accountability for the risks arising from restrictions on collection of terrorism data.

Moderator: John Carson
Judge James G. Carr - Professor John Eastman - Cindy Cohn
Steven Martinez - Professor Seth Stodder - Andy Liepman - Shont Miller
Location: Westin Bonaventure Hotel
404 S Figueroa St.
Los Angeles, CA 90071
Cost: FBA Members $85
Non Member $95
Government Employee/Student $60
Group of 10 $800
Federal Judiciary and Guests (up to Two) Complimentary (please RSVP)
Additional Judicial Guest $35
Click here for registration flyer and additional information
Click here to register online

October 02, 2014
Time: 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Registration: 11:30 a.m.
Featuring UCI Law School Dean Erwin Chemerinsky.
Also Featuring Annual Judge Barry Russell Scholarship Awards.
Location: The Biltmore Hotel
506 S. Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA
Cost: $80 (FBA Members), $95 (non members),
$50 (government employees/Clerks/Students)
Group Registration Fees: FBA member table of 9 $700;
Nonmember table of 9 $850
Federal judiciary receive complimentary admission(Please RSVP).
Click here for registration flyer and additional information
Click here to register online

October 23, 2014
Time: 1:30 PM
Registration: 1:00 PM
Featuring panels of experienced appellate advocates and Ninth Circuit judges discussing strategies for effective appellate advocacy, and representatives from the Ninth Circuit Clerk's Office with tips for litigating in the Ninth Circuit.

There will be a reception following the event for all participants and judges.
Location: Richard H. Chambers U.S. Court of Appeals Building
125 South Grand Avenue
Pasadena, California 91105
Cost: Early Registration: $250 / $125 for Government, Solo, Public Interest Lawyers & Students
Must register no later than September 25, 2014

Registration After September 25, 2014: $300 / $150 for Government, Solo, Public Interest Lawyers, Summer Associates & Students

$50 discount for current FBA member
Click here for registration flyer and additional information
Click here to register online

See Previous Events

Photos of Previous Events




Friday, 01 August 2014

Board Members

Past Presidents

2012-2013 Evan A. Jenness
2011-2012 Jeffrey Rutherford
2010-2011 Mary Carter Andrues
2009-2010 Yolanda Orozco
2008-2009 Fred A. Rowley, Jr
2007-2008 Gary Lincenberg
2006-2007 Janet I. Levine
2005-2006 Lorraine L. Loder
2004-2005 Brian J. Hennigan
2003-2004 Mark A. Byrne
2002-2003 Marc A. Becker
2001-2002 Richard Marmaro
Jerome H. Craig
1999-2000 Richard H. Kirschner
1998-1999 Thomas Holliday
1997-1998 Brad D. Brian
1996-1997 James L. Goldman
1995-1996 Leslie R. Horowitz
1994-1995 Molly Munger
1993-1994 John R. Sommer
1992-1993 Patricia A. Mitchell
1991-1992 William James
1990-1991 Howard O. Boltz
1989-1990 Joan S. Ortolano
1988-1989 Richard E. Drooyan
1987-1988 Edward M. Robbins, Jr.
1986-1987 Christine L. Harwell
1985-1986 Donald C. Smaltz
1984-1985 Felicia Duque Black
1983-1984 John A. Lapinski
1982-1983 Robert C. Bonner
1981-1982 Robert L. Fenton
1980-1981 Meredith C. Taylor
1979-1980 John D. Vandevelde
1978-1979 Charles Jegikowski
1977-1978 Hon. Barry Russell
1976-1977 Robert M. Talcott
1975-1976 James D. Murray
1974-1975 Arnold G. Regardie
1973-1974 Rex W. Kellough
1972-1973 James R. Dooley
1971-1972 Hon. Richard M. Mosk
1970-1971 Donald A. Fareed
1969-1970 Morton B. Jackson
1968-1969 Hon. Matthew M. Byrne, Jr.
1967-1968 Miles J. Rubin
1966-1967 Vincent C. Page
1965-196b Thomas J. Sullivan
1964-1965 Edward R. McHale
1963-1964 Carla A. Hills
1962-1963 Carla A. Hills
1961-1962 Ernest Mortenson
1960-1961 Richard A. Lavine
1959-1960 Lloyd F. Dune
1958-1959 Lloyd F. Dune
1957-1958 Robert K. Grean
1956-1957 Max F. Deutz
1955-1956 Tobias G. Klinger
1954-1955 Laughlin E. Waters